Sunday, 20 April 2014

Voters living abroad prefer Schwarzenberg for president

14 January 2013

Prague, Jan 12 (CTK) - The Czech voters who attended the first round of the presidential election abroad clearly preferred Foreign Minister Karel Schwarzenberg, who received 54.3 percent of their votes, compared to 10.1 percent cast for the second most successful candidate, former PM Milos Zeman.

In the Czech Republic, Schwarzenberg ended second, narrowly behind Zeman. They defeated another seven candidates and have advanced to the second election round.

A total of 5558 voters cast their ballots abroad, which is a fraction of more than five million ballots voters cast in the Czech Republic.

Jiri Dienstbier, candidate of the senior opposition Social Democrats (CSSD) received the third highest number of votes of Czechs abroad, followed by former PM Jan Fischer, artist Vladimir Franz, MEP Zuzana Roithova, actress Tana Fischerova (Key Movement), Premysl Sobotka (Civic Democrats, ODS) and Jana Bobosikova (Sovereignty).

The highest number of valid votes, 599, was cast by Czech voters in Belgium, where Schwarzenberg won with 60 percent of the vote.

The election result was similar in Britain, where Schwarzenberg was supported by 62 percent of Czech voters and in the USA (64 percent).

A total of 250 Czechs cast their ballots in Slovakia. They, too, preferred Schwarzenberg (48 percent) before former interim PM Jan Fischer and Zeman.

Schwarzenberg also won, for example, in Argentine, Turkey, Ireland and Mongolia, but in other states, Czech voters preferred other candidates.

Zeman won in countries such as Afghanistan, Libya and Ukraine, Fischer won in Algeria.

In Egypt, Schwarzenberg shares the victory with independent candidate Vladimir Franz, an artist and composer tattooed from head to toe.

First round of Czech presidential election abroad:

Candidates Gained portion of votes
Karel Schwarzenberg (TOP 09) 54.3
Milos Zeman (SPOZ) 10.1
Jiri Dienstbier (CSSD) 9.2
Jan Fischer 8.3
Vladimir Franz 6.1
Zuzana Roithova (KDU-CSL) 5.5
Tana Fischerova (Key Movement) 3.6
Premysl Sobotka (ODS) 2.6
Jana Bobosikova (Sovereignty) 0.5

Copyright 2014 by the Czech News Agency (ČTK). All rights reserved.
Copying, dissemination or other publication of this article or parts thereof without the prior written consent of ČTK is expressly forbidden. The Prague Daily Monitor and Monitor CE are not responsible for its content.